Apple phishing

Security researchers from Malwarebytes spotted an Apple phishing campaign with new tricks to steal payment card details from victims. The attack ranges between February 2–6 and now the phishing sites are deactivated.

Most of the Emails sent was with the subject [ New Statement ] Your receipt from Apple [ 02 February 2018 ] and the attackers used the randomly-grabbed address.

Researchers said “the emails claim to be receipts for a payment of $9.99 made out to, er, Mr. Edward Snowden. Apparently, privacy campaigns and 2 terabyte storage plans go together nicely”.

Seems like the scammers targets some potential victims, for most of the people it displays the following message “Thanks for the order of this thing that costs you money” would be enough to have panic set in.

Apple phishing

Researchers said “the phishing link itself is also offline, but we can confirm people won’t be losing money on this one anytime soon”.

Also Read ReelPhish – A Real-Time Advanced Two-Factor Authentication Phishing Tool

Login Alert Notification – Apple phishing

Also, the scammers sent login alert notifications “someone else is logging in to your Apple account with an iPod in Monaco“.

In the Apple phishing Email, they used Cyrillic characters to bypass Bayesian filtering and the destination here is again offline. The Email read as below.

[Reminder] [Notification Update] Statement new log-in your Apple account with
another device
Fοuг уοuг ѕаfеtу, уοuг Αррlе ID hаѕ Ьееn lοсκеd Ьесаuѕе wе fοund ѕοmе ѕuѕрісіοuѕ
асtіνіtу οn уοuг ассοunt. Ѕοmеοnе ассеѕѕіng уοuг ассοunt аnd mаκе ѕοmе сhаngе
οn уοuг ассοunt іnfοгmаtіοn. This the details :
Country: Monaco
IP Address :
Date and Time: 13:09, 06 Feb 2018
OS: iPod
Browser: Safari
If you did not make these action or you believe an unauthorized person has 
accessed your account, you should login to your account as soon as possible to
 verify your information.
Researchers spotted some messages that to apply pressure to victims “Payment made, quick do something!” and “So, your account is going to be terminated.”

Also some fake app purchases messages circulated with the order number attached which may prompt the individuals to click on those rogue links.