Monday, July 15, 2024

Google to Remove Green Secure Indicator for HTTPS Pages

Google made an announcement earlier today that they are to remove the security indicators for HTTPS pages starting from the Chrome version 69 that is to be released in September 2018.

Emily Schechter, Chrome Security Product Manager says since the HTTPS traffic evolved it is not required to draw user attention with security indicators, the default unmarked state is the secured one.

Instead, they are to mark the HTTP pages as not secure with a strong red warning and from the version Chrome 70 they are to flag as “not secure” when the user enters data into HTTP pages.

Chrome says the progress of moving with encrypted traffic is incredible.

  • Over 68% of Chrome traffic on both Android and Windows is now protected.
  • Over 78% of Chrome traffic on both Chrome OS and Mac is now protected.
  • 81 of the top 100 sites on the web use HTTPS by default.

Another massive change is with the certificate that was issued by Symantec, all the Symantec SSL/TLS certificates will stop working will stop working from Chrome 70 that to be released on Aug 30th, 2018.

Google treatment of HTTP pages cames to effect starting from Chrome version 56, with the chrome 56 the HTTP pages with password field & credit card field marked as not secure.

Starting from version Chrome 62, browsing HTTP page in Chrome incognito mode, password field and any input field marked as Not Secure.

From Chrome 68(July 2018) all the HTTP pages will be marked as Not Secure and they are intended to mark all HTTP pages as affirmatively non-secure in the long term.

According to transparency report, encrypted traffic across Google is 93% and it varies by the country and the top sites running default with HTTPS.

“We hope these changes continue to pave the way for a web that’s easy to use safely, by default. HTTPS is cheaper and easier than ever before, and unlocks powerful capabilities — so don’t wait to migrate to HTTPS!.”


Latest articles

Critical Cellopoint Secure Email Gateway Flaw Let Attackers Execute Arbitrary Code

A critical vulnerability has been discovered in the Cellopoint Secure Email Gateway, identified as...

Singapore Banks to Phase out OTPs for Bank Account Logins Within 3 Months

The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) and The Association of Banks in Singapore (ABS)...

GuardZoo Android Malware Attacking military personnel via WhatsApp To Steal Sensitive Data

A Houthi-aligned group has been deploying Android surveillanceware called GuardZoo since October 2019 to...

ViperSoftX Weaponizing AutoIt & CLR For Stealthy PowerShell Execution

ViperSoftX is an advanced malware that has become more complicated since its recognition in...

Malicious NuGet Campaign Tricking Developers To Inject Malicious Code

Hackers often target NuGet as it's a popular package manager for .NET, which developers...

Akira Ransomware Attacking Airline Industry With Legitimate Tools

Airlines often become the target of hackers as they contain sensitive personal and financial...

DarkGate Malware Exploiting Excel Files And SMB File Shares

DarkGate, a Malware-as-a-Service (MaaS) platform, experienced a surge in activity since September 2023, employing...
Guru baran
Guru baran
Gurubaran is a co-founder of Cyber Security News and GBHackers On Security. He has 10+ years of experience as a Security Consultant, Editor, and Analyst in cybersecurity, technology, and communications.

Free Webinar

Low Rate DDoS Attack

9 of 10 sites on the AppTrana network have faced a DDoS attack in the last 30 days.
Some DDoS attacks could readily be blocked by rate-limiting, IP reputation checks and other basic mitigation methods.
More than 50% of the DDoS attacks are employing botnets to send slow DDoS attacks where millions of IPs are being employed to send one or two requests per minute..
Key takeaways include:

  • The mechanics of a low-DDoS attack
  • Fundamentals of behavioural AI and rate-limiting
  • Surgical mitigation actions to minimize false positives
  • Role of managed services in DDoS monitoring

Related Articles